20140524_194741 Looking at my various newsfeeds, there are so many conversations I could enter and so many important topics on which I could post. The coup in Thailand. The election in Ukraine. Today’s Run for Water in Abbotsford. How oppressed I feel as a public school teacher in BC,  and especially in this school district (one of the few that decided to cancel recess as a response to teachers’ job action, and that threatened teachers with discipline if they distributed a letter explaining the teachers’ side of things). The #YesAllWomen conversation on Twitter.

And what have I been posting? Pictures of flowers. How trivial, it would seem, although my photos have attracted a lot of ‘likes’. But that got me to thinking. About our Creator, who cares for the lilies of the field. “Look at the lilies of the field and how they grow. They don’t work or make their clothing, yet Solomon in all his glory was not dressed as beautifully as they are. And if God cares so wonderfully for wildflowers that are here today and thrown into the fire tomorrow, he will certainly care for you.” (Matthew 6:28-30, NLT) So the Creator cares for the lilies, and the irises, and the roses… and ME! Not only that, but he gave me eyes to see and appreciate the beauty he has created.  So even though I need not worry about what I will wear, I can join in his apparent love of colour and put on purple nail polish and a shiny scarf and go out joyfully into the day.  I haven’t forgotten about the important things going on in the world. I’m not neglecting a response to them.  But my first response is to commit all these things into his hands. How thankful I am that He’s got it. My responsibility is to seek his kingdom and live righteously. I care deeply about the social injustices in the world, both near and far away. But I don’t need to be burdened down my them. Tonight I will rest and reflect, and in the morning I will rise to face another day. Bravely and with confidence, knowing that I am not alone and it’s not all on me.

20140523_191640

