Tags

,

I love the week between Christmas and New Year’s. It feels like a gift – a week when I’m not working and there is no prescribed agenda and very little in the way of expectations. When I was a kid it was the week that I spent with my grandparents. It was the week of taking a break from the expectations and chores placed on an oldest child living on a farm. It was a week for playing with my Christmas gifts and watching my grandmother making delicious New Year’s cookies (raisin fritters).

It’s still a time for playing with my Christmas toys (such as the e-reader I got from my daughter), as well as a time for random visits with friends or staying in pyjamas until mid-afternoon. It’s also a time of anticipation of the new year, a time to reflect, reassess and plan. It’s a time to be thankful for the many blessings despite hardships in the year just finished, and a time for hope that the year ahead will bring fresh opportunities and renewed focus and energy.

I want this week to go slowly so I can savour it.

